Video: NILE’s GEORGE KOLLIAS Rehearsing Songs From ‘What Should Not Be Unearthed’ Album

Video footage of NILE drummer George Kollias rehearsing some of the tracks from the band’s new album, “What Should Not Be Unearthed”, can be seen below.

“What Should Not Be Unearthed” will be released on August 28 via Nuclear Blast. Produced by NILE and mixed by Neil Kernon, the CD’s artwork was handled this time by Michal “Xaay” Loranc and can be seen below.

In a recent interview with Echoes And Dust, NILE mastermind Karl Sanders stated about the follow-up to 2012’s “At The Gates Of Sethu”: “After ‘Sethu’, I did not feel like doing another album album like that again. During that time, there were a lot of mental insanities going on, and some aspects of that record we thought could have been better. This time around, I wanted to do a record for the fans. On some levels, ‘Sethu’ was us responding to the yearning and drive to become more technical and more progressive and use super-clean tones, to focus on the musicianship. We wanted to deliver a record in which nobody could possibly in any way question our musicianship. While it was something of a statement for us, that approach doesn’t necessarily make for a fun record to listen to. In retrospect, when you make an album like that, you take the listener out of the equation and I don’t feel we should do that to our fans. They deserve better. Having that said, ‘Sethu’ was an important stepping stone from getting to the point where we are right now as a band.”

Regarding the fact that “What Should Not Be Unearthed” was recorded at NILE’s own recording facility, Sanders said: “When you work from home, you can decide on your own hours. You can decide to move a microphone stand a hundred times around if you like, because you’re not paying by the hour. You can just focus on the music and not watch the clock. That’s the biggest benefit of having your own studio.”

He continued :” Dallas [Toler-Wade, guitarist] and I sat beside [producer] Neil Kernon for like four records and you can’t possibly get away with at least learning something from a recording genius like him. This was the chance for us to try to implement some of the lessons we’ve learned. It turned out to be the most fun time Dallas and I had making a record.”

Sanders added: “Making a NILE record has always been such a stressful and difficult experience in the past. Recording ‘Amongst The Catacombs’ was actually a nice experience because we’ve been playing those songs for years before they were ever recorded. It was a whole new experience and we were drunk with creative power at the time. Every successive record after that the pressure grew and grew. This time around we had a lot of fun and you can hear that back in the tracks.”

“What Should Not Be Unearthed” track listing:

01. Call To Destruction
02. Negating The Abominable Coils Of Apep
03. Liber Stellae Rubeae
04. In The Name Of Amun
05. What Should Not Be Unearthed
06. Evil To Cast Out Evil
07. Age Of Famine
08. Ushabti Reanimator
09. Rape Of The Black Earth
10. To Walk Forth From Flames Unscathed

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *