Sumo Cyco reveal video for new track “Move mountains” feat. Benji Webbe


Canadian punk-metallers SUMO CYCO have released a video for their brand new track ‘Move Mountains’ featuring SKINDRED’s Benji Webbe. The song is taken from the band’s upcoming sophomore album ‘Opus Mar’, which is set for release on March 31. Pre-orders are available here.

“As a band that formed after being inspired by ‘Babylon’ by Skindred, it’s absolutely surreal to have collaborated on a song with Benji Webbe,” says frontwoman Skye ‘Sever’ Sweetnam “Back in 2015, our UK tour ended in Wales. I knew we were going to be close to Benji’s hometown of Newport, so I asked if he’d be down with us coming to film a music video for “Move Mountains”. Not only did Benji invite us to film at Dub War’s rehearsal space, but he took us out for drinks to the local pubs and we had the best night. This is how we experienced meeting one of my all time favourite vocalists –

Watch the video:

Produced by Matt Drake (illScarlett) and James ‘LeRock’ Loughrey (Skindred, Joss Stone), ‘Opus Mar’ fuses hard-rock guitar riffs, in-your-face blast beats and dancehall rhythms, all topped off by frontwoman Skye ‘Sever’ Sweetnam’s electric vocals. SUMO CYCO independently crowdfunded the new album, reaching 249% of their PledgeMusic goal after the buzz of previous single ‘Anti-Anthem’.

Sever says: “I Facebook stalked producer James ‘LeRock’ Loughrey after “Ninja” by Skindred was released. I invited him to come see us play the first time we played London in 2014. Luckily he came and liked what he saw, because a year later we were in the London countryside recording “Move Mountains.”

Last but not least, the band will be in Europe in April with (HED)P.E.“Watch out Europe because we’re ready to bust out some new tunes and get in your face! We couldn’t be more excited to get sweaty with you. See you in the pit!”.

29.03 – Utrecht (NL) De Helling
30.03 – Ludwigsburg (D) Rockfabrik
01.04 – Zurich (CH) Z7
02.04 – Seregno (I) Honky Tonky
04.04 – Bologna (I) Kindergarten
05.04 – Vienna (AT) Szenewien
06.04 – Munich (D) Backstageclub
07.04 – Regensburg (D) Eventhall
08.04 – Essen (D) Turock
09.04 – Sittard (NL) Volt

Check out the artwork and tracklisting for ‘Opus Mar’ below!

1. Anti-Anthem
2. Free Yourself
3. Move Mountains ft. Benji Webbe
4. Passengers
5. Brave II
6. Sleep Tight
7. Rivalry
8. Kids of Calamity
9. Won’t Put Me Out
10. Words
11. The Broadcasters (Murdering By Radio)
12. Rally
13. Struggle

Geef een antwoord

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *