TREMONTI: ‘Dust’ Audio Track-By-Track Commentary

“Dust”, the third album from TREMONTI, the band led by CREED and ALTER BRIDGE guitarist Mark Tremonti, was released on April 29 via Fret 12.

Mark’s audio track-by-track commentary detailing the songs that comprise “Dust” is available below.

“Dust”, which was recorded during same sessions as “Cauterize”, features Mark Tremonti on vocals/guitars, Eric Friedman on guitars, Wolfgang Van Halen on bass and Garrett Whitlock on drums. Longtime friend and collaborator Michael “Elvis” Baskette produced “Dust”.

“Dust” track listing:

01. My Last Mistake
02. The Cage
03. Once Dead
04. Dust
05. Betray Me
06. Tore My Heart Out
07. Catching Fire
08. Never Wrong
09. Rising Storm
10. Unable To See

TREMONTI released its second album, “Cauterize”, last June. “Cauterize” followed up TREMONTI’s 2012 debut, “All I Was”, and was the first of two new albums that TREMONTI recorded.

Mark Tremonti told The Pulse Of Radio that both “Dust” and “Cauterize” feature the same level of quality material. “We went in there with the goal of recording twenty songs, and then when it came time to release the songs, I didn’t want to put thirteen songs on one record and then have seven B-sides,” he said. “I wanted all these songs to be thought of as songs that were meant to be on an album. None of these are throwaway songs. So we cut ‘em into two ten-song albums that are kind of two dynamic records. If there was two chill songs, one would go on the first, one would go on the second and so on.”

Mark elaborated in a separate interview: “At first I just wanted to record as many songs as possible. But when I stepped back and listened to it, I was, like, ‘You know what?! Let’s make two records.’ So I left some of my favorite songs on the second record, just so people aren’t gonna buy the first record and then go, ‘Okay, this is the good record and this is the bad one. These are the bad songs.’ My brother Dan likes the second record better than the first record. Some of my favorite songs are on the second record. The title track, ‘Dust’, I think, has the best chorus of the whole recording process. ‘Dust’ has my favorite solo. The opening track, ‘My Last Mistake’, is one of my favorite songs. It’s got the big ballad of the two records. It’s definitely not the ‘b-sides’ of this album.”

Although VAN HALEN bassist Wolfgang Van Halen was part of TREMONTI’s touring band in 2013 and played on “Dust” and “Cauterize”, he sat out TREMONTI’s tour schedule because of commitments with VAN HALEN.

TREMONTI recruited Tanner Keegan to play bass on its most recent tour.

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *