THE CULT To Release ‘Hidden City’ Album In February; Hear First Single ‘Dark Energy’

THE CULT will release its tenth album, “Hidden City”, on February 5, 2016 via Cooking Vinyl. The follow-up to 2012’s “Choice Of Weapon” was written by singer Ian Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy and was produced by Bob Rock, who has previously worked with METALLICA and MÖTLEY CRÜE.

“Hidden City” is described as the final part of a trilogy that began with the 2007 album “Born Into This”.

Speaking about the new CD, Astbury says: “I find today’s gurus are trying to peddle some cure, product or insight as if it’s a new phenomenon. My place is to respond, not react, to observe, participate and share through words and music. There is no higher authority than the heart.”

“Hidden City” track listing:

01. Dark Energy
02. No Love Lost
03. Dance The Night
04. In Blood
05. Birds Of Paradise
06. Hinterland
07. G O A T
08. Deeply Ordered Chaos
09. Avalanche Of Light
10. Lilies
11. Heathens
12. Sound and Fury

The song “Dark Energy” can now be streamed below.

THE CULT played its first show with new bass player Grant Fitzpatrick on October 28 at Stubb’s Bar-B-Q in Austin, Texas.

THE CULT is preparing for a run of six dates with spiritual cousins and legendary iconoclasts PRIMAL SCREAM. Kicking off on November 12 at Portland, Oregon’s Crystal Ballroom, the trek will see both bands will be celebrating their unified solidarity and their forthcoming albums.

The details are as follows:

Nov. 12 – Crystal Ballroom – Portland, OR
Nov. 14 – Showbox Showdo – Seattle, WA
Nov. 15 – Queen Elizabeth Theatre – Vancouver, BC
Nov. 17 – Warfield Theater – San Francisco, CA
Nov. 19 – House of Blues – San Diego, CA
Nov. 20 – Palladium – Hollywood, CA

“Choice Of Weapon” sold around 11,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 34 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was made available on May 22, 2012 via Cooking Vinyl.


Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *