SWALLOW THE SUN: Lyric Video For New Song ‘Pray For The Winds To Come’

Finnish melancholy death-doom metal masters SWALLOW THE SUN will release a triple album titled “Songs From The North I, II & III” on November 13 via Century Media.

Incorporating dark menace and gradations of death, black and funeral doom, each of the three albums of “Songs From The North I, II & III” embodies the band’s unofficial band motto: “Gloom, Beauty & Despair.”

“Songs From The North I” continues in the vein of the albums before it — first-rate death-doom in the typical style of SWALLOW THE SUN.

“Songs From The North I” track listing:

01. With You Came The Whole Of The World’s Tears
02. 10 Silver Bullets
03. Rooms And Shadows
04. Heartstrings Shattering
05. Silhouettes
06. The Memory Of Light
07. Lost & Catatonic
08. From Happiness To Dust

“Songs From The North II” is a beautiful, acoustic foray representing the group’s ability to unplug and revel in the darkness.

“Songs From The North II” track listing:

01. The Womb Of Winter
02. The Heart Of A Cold White Land
03. Away
04. Pray For The Winds To Come
05. Songs From The North
06. 66°50 ‘N, 28°40 ‘E
07. Autumn Fire
08. Before The Summer Dies

The official lyric video for “Pray For The Winds To Come” can be seen below.

“Songs From The North III” is the most extreme album, a complete ride into SWALLOW THE SUN’s most horrific abyss of finely-crafted, conscience-crushing funeral doom.

“Songs From The North III” track listing:

01. The Gathering Of Black Moths
02. 7 Hours Late
03. Empires Of Loneliness
04. Abandoned By The Light
05. The Clouds Prepare For Battle

“Songs From The North I, II & III” will be available as special edition 3CD box containing three digipaks and a booklet, limited deluxe edition 5LP+3CD Box with each album in a gatefold sleeve and as digital album.

SWALLOW THE SUN’s main songwriter and guitarist Juha Raivio comments on the triple-album concept: “Making a triple album in this godforsaken digital and modern day and age… Many will say it’s madness. I say it is to bring worth, heart and respect back into the music and to the album format where it belongs. This should never turn into a shallow fast food industry where music is only downloaded one song at a time.

“These albums hold life, death, gloom, beauty and despair in their deepest levels and forms. The three chapters are different but connected, one long journey through these songs written up here in the North.

“Music is holy, albums are holy. See you on the other side friends.”


Juha Raivio – guitar
Markus Jämsen – guitar
Mikko Kotamäki – vocals
Matti Honkonen -bass
Aleksi Munter – keys
Juuso Raatikainen – drums

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *