SATAN: Entire ‘Atom By Atom’ Album Availale For Streaming

“Atom By Atom”, the new studio album from British heavy metal veterans SATAN, can be streamed in its entirety below. Due on October 16 via Listenable Records, the follow-up to 2013’s “Life Sentence” was recorded at Newcastle’s First Avenue Studios and was once again mixed and mastered by Dario Mollo in Italy. The cover artwork, which can be seen below, was created by artist Eliran Kantor, who has previously worked with TESTAMENT, ICED EARTH, SODOM and SOULFLY, among others. The CD features ten songs, including a collaboration with ANGEL WITCH’s Kevin Heybourne.

“Atom By Atom” track listing:

01. Farewell Evolution
02. Fallen Saviour
03. Ruination
04. The Devil’s Infantry
05. Atom By Atom
06. In Contempt
07. My Own God
08. Ahriman
09. Bound In Enmity
10. The Fall Of Persephone

SATAN guitarist Steve Ramsey stated about “Atom By Atom”: “We wanted to keep some continuity going with both the look and sound of this album.

“We’ve been working on the music for nearly two years now and I think people will definitely hear a progression from ‘Life Sentence’. I can’t really describe it, but I promise you, these songs will speak for themselves.”

SATAN released a live album, “Trail Of Fire – Live In North America”, in October 2014 to celebrate its debut live appearances last year on the North American soil in support of “Life Sentence”.

Originating from Newcastle, England in 1980, SATAN is known as part of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal movement. Though generally obscure throughout their career, the band is considered influential for playing a form of proto-thrash metal that was fairly advanced by the standards of the early 1980s, influencing major acts like METALLICA, EXODUS and DEATH ANGEL.

“Life Sentence” was released on April 29, 2013 in Europe and May 21, 2013 in the U.S. via Listenable Records. The CD was the culmination of a process that began when the original “Court In The Act” lineup got together for an exclusive “one-off” reunion show at Germany’s Keep It True festival in 2011 in what marked their first performance together in 28 years.

The recording lineup for “Life Sentence” was the same as that on “Court In The Act”:

Brian Ross (vocals)
Steve Ramsey (guitar)
Russ Tippins (guitar)
Graeme English (bass)
Sean Taylor (drums)

SATAN is one of the most important groups that emerged in the early NWOBHM era. Their unique mixture of heavy and power metal spirit with thrash riffage brought a handful of unforgettable tunes and revolutionized heavy music as we know it.

“Court in the Act” was SATAN’s debut release and was considered a true milestone at the time of its release (1983). The songs were melodic, but at the same time very aggressive. The band’s two guitarists, Russ Tippins and Steve Ramsey, delivered a truly amazing performance; although their styles were completely different, they managed to perfectly complement each other’s playing and introduced a handful of timeless riffs and solos.

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *