METALLICA: 36-Minute Video Recap Of ‘The Night Before’ Concert, Pre-Show Soundcheck, Meet-And-Greet

METALLICA has uploaded fly-on-the-wall footage shot by the MetOnTour reporter on February 5 and February 6 during the band’s headlining performance at CBS Radio’s “The Night Before”, a one-of-a-kind concert experience the evening prior to Super Bowl 50 at AT&T Park in the band’s hometown of San Francisco, California. The 36-minute clip, which can be seen below. includes footage of the members of METALLICA in the Met Club meet-and-greet, rehearsing for some “Fifth Members” (members of the METALLICA fan club) during soundcheck, having a photo shoot with Ross Halfin, warming up in the tuning room, as well as performing the song “Master Of Puppets” at the show.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Fuel
04. King Nothing
05. Ride The Lightning
06. The Unforgiven
07. The Memory Remains
08. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
09. Sad But True
10. Wherever I May Roam
11. One
12. Master Of Puppets
13. Battery
14. Fade To Black
15. Seek And Destroy


16. Whiskey In The Jar
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman

Regarding what METALLICA might play for at the gig, drummer Lars Ulrich told Rolling Stone prior to the show: “If I told you that we were going to play all the deep, obscure tracks from ‘Load’ and ‘ReLoad’, you know I’d be lying to you. I don’t want to dampen anyone’s enthusiasm, but we’re leaning a little bit towards the classics.”

METALLICA invited around 300 fan club members on February 5 to watch the band’s “The Night Before” soundcheck. “Soundchecks can be notoriously uninspiring, but since we have to get some cobwebs out, and we figured people will be coming in from far away for the game, we invited 250 fan club members,” Ulrich told Rolling Stone. “It’ll up the ante and keep us on our toes.”

METALLICA has played at AT&T Park the last three years by hosting the annual “Metallica Night” at San Francisco Giants games. Last year, the band expanded that tradition, bringing “Metallica Night” into the South Bay for a San Jose Sharks hockey game.

METALLICA has been working on a new album, but did not air any new music at the performance.

Lead guitarist Kirk Hammett confirmed last November that the band was in the process of recording new material, saying, “At this point, we’re still just doing basic backing tracks. James [Hetfield, guitar/vocals] is doing his guitar stuff, and I am just kind of waiting patiently to go in there and do all of my guitar stuff.”

The last METALLICA album, “Death Magnetic”, came out in 2008.

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *