Legendary Progressive Metal Band WATCHTOWER Partners With PROSTHETIC RECORDS

Prosthetic Records will release legendary progressive metallers WATCHTOWER’s recent digital-only tracks on LP and CD. The four tracks will be combined with one brand new song, creating the EP “Concepts of Math: Book One” and will be released on limited edition vinyl and digipack CD later this year.

Comments WATCHTOWER vocalist Alan Tecchio: “I am so stoked to be a part of this legendary jazz-metal-prog group once again! Right now we are close to finishing the tracking for the additional ten-minute song that we are adding to the other four tunes. This will complete the EP that Prosthetic plans to release later this year. I can tell you that the new song is especially super cool and has that classic WATCHTOWER sound. I think the fans, both new and old, will have a deep appreciation for what is going to be available from us later this year.”

WATCHTOWER guitarist Ron Jarzombek remarked on the partnership: “I’m psyched to be on the same label as my old friend Marty Friedman! Prosthetic has also been home to great bands like GOJIRA, ANIMALS AS LEADERS, ALL THAT REMAINS, as well as my fellow Texans SCALE THE SUMMIT. It’s nice to know we are in good company on this label. The music we’ll release later this year picks up right where we left off with ‘Control And Resistance’.”

WATCHTOWER was formed in 1982 in Austin, Texas and has been hailed as the first jazz inspired progressive metal band. They have released two full length albums to date: “Energetic Disassembly” in 1985 and 1989’s “Control and Resistance”, which is often hailed as the benchmark for progressive metal and has influenced a countless number of heavy, technical bands. “Control and Resistance” was inducted into Decibel magazine’s Hall Of Fame in 2010.

Over the years the group has gone through lineup changes, break-ups and hiatuses, though the individual members have always kept themselves in the public eye. Jarzombek, through his SPASTIC INK and BLOTTED SCIENCE projects, has established himself as one of the most respected guitar players in the scene. Tecchio has fronted HADES and NON-FICTION, and sang for SEVEN WITCHES throughout the years. His vocal range and style is unrivaled. Drummer Rick Colaluca has been name checked consistently by the likes of Gene Hoglan and Mike Portnoy, among many other drummers. Bass player Doug Keyser has an impressive list of bands who’ve asked him to audition for them (METALLICA, being one) while still being cited as a major influence from a younger generation of four-string players.

“Concepts of Math: Book One” features 2010’s digital single, “The Size of Matter”, along with three additional tracks the band surprised fans by releasing across digital platforms late last year. An epic new track, “Mathematica Calculis”, rounds out the EP.

“Concepts of Math: Book One” track listing:

01. M-Theory Overture
02. Arguments Against Design
03. Technology Inaction
04. The Size Of Matter
05. Mathematica Calculis
Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *