KORN’s FIELDY On New STILLWELL Album ‘Raise It Up’: ‘It’s A Blend Of Everything’

STILLWELL, the band featuring KORN bassist Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu on guitar, P.O.D. drummer Noah “Wuv” Bernardo, vocalist Q-Unique (THE ARSONISTS) and bassist Pablo “Spider” Silva, will release its second album, “Raise It Up”, on November 13 via Rat Pak Records.

Fieldy told SiriusXM Octane that some people still have a hard time wrapping their heads around the fact that he is not playing bass in STILLWELL but is the sole guitarist in the band. He said: “I tell people that, and they still don’t get it: ‘I’m the guitar player, not the bass player.’ I’ll say it and still they’re, like… I don’t know… I never thought it would be so hard to explain to people that I’m playing guitar.”

Regarding his decision to play guitar in STILLWELL rather than the instrument he is best known for, Fieldy said: “I started out as a guitar player anyways, so I wanted to go, ‘How would songs turn out if I was a guitar player?’ And it’s completely different from KORN; it’s so different. If you hear the new STILLWELL album, you’re, like, ‘Man, it’s nothing like KORN.’ And I wanted to really release that side of me, of that other character, if I was to play guitar.”

According to Fieldy, STILLWELL’s musical direction can best be described as “street rock and roll — like rock, but a little bit heavier, ‘cause we have that street vibe to it. That’s basically what it is. And Q is a rapper too, so there’s some rap-rock-type stuff in there too, so it’s kind of both. It’s a blend of everything — a hybrid.”

Wanting to raise the bar higher than their critically acclaimed 2011 release, “Dirtbag”, STILLWELL reached out to producer Chris Collier for direction.

“When we connected with Chris Collier, that’s when for me, vocally, everything changed,” said Q. The band started demoing tracks in early 2014 and by year’s end had reached the plateau they were looking for that redefined their sound.

“The one thing I can say, the difference between this record and ‘Dirtbag’, is you can definitely tell the maturity, the songwriting, the lyrics and the way the songs are put together, “said Wuv.

“Raise It Up” track listing:

01. Raise It Up
02. Comin’ Around
03. Mess I Made
04. Elephant In The Room
05. Light ‘Em Up
06. Rug From Under Me
07. Background, Front Row
08. Eggshells
09. No You Won’t
10. All City
11. Take A Dive In The Fire

The official video for the song “Mess I Made” can be seen below. The clip was produced and directed by Lynwood Films.

You can preorder “Raise It Up” at RatPakRecordsAmerica.com.

STILLWELL released “Surrounded By Liars”, an EP containing six original versions of songs that appeared on the band’s debut album, “Dirtbag”, in November 2011. The six songs were “Trepidation”, “I Can’t Be Stopped”, “Cyclone”, “Hate To Say I Told You So (Magnetic Daze)” and “Surrounded By Liars”, along with the very first STILLWELL song ever recorded, “Killing Myself To Live”.

STILLWELL opened for DISTURBED and KORN on the entire second leg of the “Music As A Weapon V” tour in 2011.

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *