JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13 Feat. VINNY APPICE, RUSSELL ALLEN: ‘Long For The Days’ Song Streaming

Joel Hoekstra will release “Dying To Live”, the new melodic hard rock studio album from his electrifying new side project JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13, on October 16 via Frontiers Srl. The currrent guitarist for WHITESNAKE, Hoekstra is best known for his work with NIGHT RANGER, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA and the show “Rock Of Ages”.

The song “Long For The Days”, taken from “Dying To Live”, can be streamed below.

Says Hoekstra: “‘Long For The Days’ is a song about reflection and regret over a relationship gone badly. It’s a good old-fashioned, classic-rock style track that captures elements of some of my favorite bands (I’ll let you figure them out!). Vinny Appice (drums) and Tony Franklin (bass) lay it down while Derek Sherinian (keys) provides the right sounds and parts with tasteful perfection. Russell Allen delivers one of my favorite vocal performances EVER and Jeff Scott Soto sings some amazing backgrounds to support them. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing/recording it!”

Hoekstra took charge of the creative process by handling the production, songwriting and arranging (music and lyrics). The end result could best be described as hard, melodic, classic rock that is DIO-ish at its heaviest and FOREIGNER-ish at its lightest.

“Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music. I wanted to put something out that showcased my production, writing and playing in the genre that I’m known for, which is melodic, hard rock,” explains Hoekstra. “That’s when I decided to start what I consider to be my rock side project, JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13.”

“Dying To Live” focuses on struggles, potential pitfalls and the art of overcoming obstacles in life to finally arrive where we are meant to be. The CD was conceived before Hoekstra joined WHITESNAKE, whose lead singer, David Coverdale, gave the album his full blessing.

David wants his players to spread their wings and fly, and, of course, be ready to rock when WHITESNAKE needs them, which obviously won’t be an issue,” says Hoekstra.

Excited how the new album turned out, Hoekstra is looking forward to the overall reaction from fans and media. “I hope everyone will give it a listen,” he says. “I feel it showcases my production, writing and playing in essentially the same genre. The lineup of musicians is stellar! I want to thank everyone for any support in advance. Life is good!”

“Dying To Live” track listing:

01. Say Goodbye To The Sun
02. Anymore
03. Until I Left You
04. Long For The Days
05. Scream
06. Never Say Never
07. Changes
08. The Only Way To Go
09. Dying To Live
10. Start Again
11. What We Believe
12. Kill or Be Killed (bonus track digital download)

An EPK (Electronic Press Kit) for the album is available below.

The musicians:

* Joel Hoekstra (WHITESNAKE) – Guitar, Backing Vocals
* Jeff Scott Soto (JOURNEY, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals
* Russell Allen (ADRENALINE MOB, SYMPHONY X) – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals
* Vinny Appice (Black SABBATH, DIO) – Drums
* Tony Franklin (THE FIRM, BLUE MURDER) – Bass

Special Guest Musicians:

* Chloe Lowery (TRANS SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA) – Vocals
* Toby Hitchcock (PRIDE OF LIONS) – Additional Backing Vocals
* Charlie Zeleny (JOE LYNN TURNER) – Percussion
* Dave Eggar (AMY LEE, COLDPLAY) – Cello

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *