CHASTAIN Leader On ‘We Bleed Metal’: ‘We Still Have A Foot In The Past But We Are Also Embracing The Future’

The new CHASTAIN album “We Bleed Metal” will be released worldwide on November 6. It is the follow-up to the band’s 2013 reunion CD “Surrender To No One”. That release marked the return of original vocalist Leather Leone. She has long been considered one of the originators of the female power metal vocal style. Leather was the vocalist on the classic CHASTAIN albums: “Mystery Of Illusion”, “Ruler Of The Wasteland”, “The 7th Of Never”, “The Voice Of The Cult” and “For Those Who Dare”. Also returning to the band is original bassist Mike Skimmerhorn. The drums are now being handled by Stian Kristoffersen (PAGAN’S MIND, FIREWIND).

Guitarist David T. Chastain states: “This new album is a continuation of the sound we created on ‘Surrender To No One’.

“We still have a foot in the past but we are also embracing the future.

“I have my style of writing metal and it isn’t ever going to change to any major degree.

“I tried to write on some subjects that are important to me: The financial systems inevitable downfall, religious insanity, mankind’s self-destructive nature, our own self-preservation and few other esoteric topics.

Leather proves on the new CD she hasn’t lost anything from her glory days.

Stian’s kicks the band to the next level, as he is the youngest member with the most modern influences.

“I think this is my most ‘shredtastic’ CHASTAIN guitar work since ‘The 7th Of Never’ era.

“I think all in all this is one of the best CHASTAIN releases in the catalog. Of course, it is hard for me to be objective about a CD until about ten years after it comes out.”

Leather adds: “After our absence through the years, the response has been fantastic! I find much of it to be classic CHASTAIN. There are undeniably some modern concepts involved!! But I guarantee it will not disappoint. It is 100% a CHASTAIN CD!”

She continues: “The title track, ‘We Bleed Metal’, should be a battle cry for all who live and love metal! The song is about the camaraderie between metal lovers and overcoming the struggle, barriers and stigmas society places on the music. ‘We will sacrifice and we will pay the price ‘cause we bleed metal!'”

“We Bleed Metal” track listing:

01. We Bleed Metal
02. All Hail The King
03. Against All The Gods
04. Search Time For You
05. Don’t Trust Tomorrow
06. I Am A Warrior
07. Evolution Of Terror
08. The Last Ones Alive
09. Secrets

The Leather-fronted version of CHASTAIN recorded five CDs in the mid-to-late 1980s: 1985’s “Mystery Of Illusion”, 1986’s “Ruler Of The Wasteland”, 1987’s “The 7th Of Never”, 1988’s “The Voice Of The Cult” and 1990’s “For Those Who Dare”. After the “For Those Who Dare” tour, David and Leather amicably went their separate ways but kept in touch over the years before reuniting in 2013.

Leather in 2012 released the debut album from her SLEDGE LEATHER project, “Imagine Me Alive”. The CD was inspired in 2010 when Leather called Sandy Sledge to collaborate on the Ronnie James Dio track “Egypt” for a demo tribute recording. Due to the overwhelming response for more material, SLEDGE LEATHER was born and performed at Germany’s Keep It True festival in April 2011.

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *