CARCASS To Release ‘Complete Edition’ Of ‘Surgical Steel’ Album

British extreme metal icons CARCASS will release a special edition version of their latest album, “Surgical Steel”, on CD and digitally on October 30, and on vinyl on November 20 via Nuclear Blast. The “Complete Edition” includes the whole album “Surgical Steel”, along with the entire “Surgical Remission / Surplus Steel” EP.

Track listing:

01. 1985
02. Thrasher’s Abbatoir
03. Cadaver Pouch Conveyor System
04. A Congealed Clot Of Blood
05. The Master Butcher’s Apron
06. Noncompliance to ASTM F899-12 Standard
07. The Granulating Dark Satanic Mills
08. Unfit For Human Consumption
09. 316L Grade Surgical Steel
10. Captive Bolt Pistol
11. Mount Of Execution

Bonus tracks:

12. A Wraith In The Apparatus
13. Intensive Battery Brooding
14. Zochrot
15. Livestock Marketplace
16. 1985 (Reprise)

All the songs were recorded during the “Surgical Steel” sessions, which were helmed by producer Colin Richardson (NAPALM DEATH, BOLT THROWER, GOREFEST, CANNIBAL CORPSE, SINISTER, RODRIGO Y GABRIELA) and mixed/mastered by Andy Sneap (MEGADETH, ACCEPT, EXODUS, TESTAMENT).

“Surgical Steel” sold around 8,500 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 41 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was released on September 16, 2013 in the U.K., September 13, 2013 in the rest of Europe and September 17, 2013 in North America via Nuclear Blast Records.

Asked about the progress of the songwriting sessions for CARCASS’s follow-up to “Surgical Steel”, CARCASS guitairist Bill Steer told Metal Wani: “It really hasn’t been possible to work on much. We’ve been just out playing all year. In January, Daniel [Wilding], the drummer, and myself, we got together and we started working on some tunes. And it’s sounding very good. But then we suddenly [started getting] back out there, [playing] festivals [and doing] little tours. You really need a decent chunk of time to focus on music, which hopefully will come up… yeah, maybe over Christmas, New Year period.”

Even though a new CARCASS album is probably at least a year away from seeing the light of day, Steer said that he definitely wants to make a worthy follow-up to “Surgical Steel”. “I would like to. I think everyone involved would like to,” he said. “But it’s not something we’d rush into, because we were very fortunate we had good will towards this previous record. I mean, I think it was deserved, ‘cause it’s a strong album, but it’s still surprising how many people got behind it. I actually expected more criticism than we had. So I think now, with that level of expectation, you can’t just come back with something of the same standard. It needs to be a little more special. We need to have something else to offer. And so we can’t really repeat the same trick, I guess, if you know what I mean.”

He continued: “But I like a challenge. I think Jeff [Walker, bass/vocals] does too. I don’t think we would attempt something if we didn’t think it was gonna be worthwhile. I just say, it will take time. It’s something we couldn’t take lightly. You don’t wanna trash the band to make a CD and throw out a really weak album.”

Source: Blabbermouth

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *